How to make a living as a writer

A few days ago I wrote about not being a writer but being a storyteller, here friend and co-author of The Mystical Hexagram, Sue Vincent, talks about being a writer……

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

It wasn’t her real name, of course, but close enough. An author’s nom de plume. Still, seeing it at the end of the printed article gave her a thrill. Every time. I felt the same way when that first magazine dropped through the letterbox with my name at the end of the article. Like mother, like daughter. There was a pride in that, hard to put into words.

It was, for both of us, so many years apart, a small thing… but to a writer it means the world.

I am not a million-dollar author with a major publishing house, I am not even a respectably sized fish in that particular pond. But I am a writer.

It took me a long time to call myself that, to ‘own’ it, as a friend said the other day. My Mum was a writer…she had things printed all over the place…

View original post 1,179 more words

One thought on “How to make a living as a writer

Leave a Reply

